I Need A Jump Start

Morning all,

I’m currently watching Jillian Michaels on The Doctors.  I love this show– this particular episode is schooling men on women’s health.  Hilarious.  I love Jillian too, I’d like to meet her one day.  Scratch that, I’d like to work out with her one day!

image source

Okay girl crush aside, I had a rough night last night.  At around 11 0′ clock I attempted to fall asleep but didn’t actually get there until closer to midnight.  Then, I woke up at 3:45 AM starving!  I was afraid eating anything would keep me from going back to sleep so I just sucked it up– but I woke up again at 5.  I snacked on a few dates and dried apricots and surfed StumbleUpon.com until finally falling back asleep at around 6.  Seriously?

I haven’t written about it because I’m still testing things out, but I recently bought a Body Bugg and have been using it for about a week.  I love it because I see how much I burn on a daily basis as well as how hard I’m working during different physical activity (e.g. running on the treadmill vs. weight lifting).  I have been logging my food intake in the system as well and it has caused me to eat more than I was because my calorie burn is higher than I had thought.  So why then, if I’m eating more than before am I waking up hungry in the middle of the night?

My best guess is that since my body wasn’t getting an adequate amount of calories before, it was purposefully slowing itself down to conserve what energy it was getting.  Now that more energy is available to it, it’s speeding up.  Proof to support this?  A week ago, when I started using my Body Bugg my average at rest calorie burn was 1.1 calories/minute.  Now, a week later and after upping my calories, it has jumped to an average of 1.3 calories/minute.  This seems miniscule, I know, but it actually is a significant amount.  Enough for my stomach to wake me up in the middle of the night.

Grrr.

Needless to say, that after my crappy night’s sleep I was not waking up at 6:30 this morning to head to the gym before class.  Instead, I’m watching one of my favorite morning TV shows and enjoying my breakfast time.

I needed a special breakfast this morning to get me going.  Inspired by Megan D’s carrot cake pancakes, I decided to create a carrot cake version of my breakfast oat bran cake.

I was not willing to grate baby carrots in the middle of my dorm room at 8:30 AM so I went for the easier route and employed this:

Yep, baby food.

I anticipated having to use the whole 4 oz. jar to achieve the right consistency but ended up only needing half of it– I saved the other half for a later date.  Yay, twice the carrot cake fun. 😉

Carrot Breakfast Cake

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup oat bran
  • 1/2 scoop vanilla brown rice protein powder
  • 1 TBSP flaxseed meal
  • 1/2 TSP baking powder
  • 1/4 TSP cinnamon
  • 1 TSP agave
  • 1/2 4 oz. jar pure carrot baby food
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 2 TBSP chopped walnuts
  • 1 light swiss Laughing Cow cheese wedge (or 1 TBSP light cream cheese)
  • 1 TSP vanilla agave (or 1 TSP agave and a drop of vanilla extract)
  • Cinnamoon for dusting

Make It:

  • Combine the first nine ingredients in a small bowl.
  • Spray a microwave safe bowl with non-stick spray and pour batter in.
  • Microwave for 3 minutes 30 seconds.
  • Meanwhile, combine the cheese and agave and stir until smooth.
  • When cake is done, top with cheese mixture and dust with cinnamon.

Mmm…cake for breakfast!

This, along with a strong cup of coffee has done wonders to jump start my morning…time to head to class!

G’ day friends!

Questions:

Have you found yourself waking up in the middle of the night to a growling stomach?  What do you do?

Who is your favorite famous fitness trainer?  I ❤ Jillian.

Amy

 

8 responses

  1. I love Jillian! I am so sad she is leaving TBL 😦 The “unknowns” seem OK though, I’m sure they will grow on me… And to answer your question, yes, I used to be an insomniac, it was totally miserable. There is nothing worse than a bad nights’ sleep. Hopefully you will sleep better tonight…

    February 16, 2011 at 10:49 am

  2. I used a Go Wear Fit for awhile during my competition training a year and a half ago. It amazed me how much I burned through the day – much higher than I thought. And I always noticed better losses when eating more with it too. Sounds like what you’re experiencing is your body becoming more efficient like you said.

    February 16, 2011 at 1:27 pm

    • I had been wanting one for awhile and finally caught it on sale. I was skeptical at first but it really is amazing– I’m very happy with it.

      February 16, 2011 at 1:46 pm

  3. cake for breakki!! ill take it!! i like jilian too! not sure if i like her workout style… im not a fan of YELLING and screaming.. but she seems lke an awesome person!

    February 16, 2011 at 1:38 pm

    • Sometimes mid-workout I need yelling and screaming to get me to push myself haha. She’s my kind of trainer.

      February 16, 2011 at 1:46 pm

  4. i’m actually watching that episode of the doctors right now! haha. i like jillian cuz she’s a tough trainer and doesn’t let anyone whimp out! plus she has nice arms..
    i don’t have the bodybugg but i have the bodymedia (basically the same thing) and i LOVE it..when i first got it and started eating what i was burning i definitely got a bit hungrier too 🙂

    February 16, 2011 at 4:02 pm

    • It’s helpful whether you want to gain weight, lose or maintain. My boyfriend wants to lose a couple of pounds and I’ve been trying to convince him to buy one so we can be body bugg buds haha.

      February 16, 2011 at 4:09 pm

  5. Pingback: Predictable « Chic Fitness

Leave a Reply

