Kickin’ It

As much as I enjoyed eating cookie dough for breakfast yesterday, today I woke up feeling like a serious cold was coming on. I wanted something warm…

That would be another oat bran breakfast cake

I just can’t kick these breakfast cakes to the curb. They’re so filling and a great way to pack in a lot of healthy foods to jump start the day.  This is a new version, though, using brown rice protein powder to bump up the protein.

Pumpkin Protein Breakfast Cake

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup oat bran
  • 1 generous TBSP brown rice protein powder (I used NutriBiotic vanilla)
  • 1/2 TSP baking powder
  • 1/2 TSP cinnamon
  • 1 TBSP ground flax seed
  • 1/4 cup pumpkin
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1 TSP maple agave (Or regular)

Make It:

  • Combine the first 5 ingredients in a small bowl.
  • Add in the wet ingredients and stir.
  • Spray a small, microwave safe, ramekin with non-stick spray.
  • Pour the batter into the ramekin and microwave for 3:30.
  • Top with whatever you like.  I chose 1 TBSP of Trader Joe’s raw almond butter mixed with 1 TSP of maple agave.  Very good decision.

So about that cold.  I have been drinking a lot of water and chose an orange as my snack to get a little extra vitamin C in for the day.  Vitamin C doesn’t cure a cold, but it can help reduce the symptoms of one.  Digging through my past nutrition science classes I found a few need-to-know facts about good ol’ vitamin C.

Things You May Not (Or May) Know About Vitamin C

image source

  • Vitamin C is a water soluble vitamin, meaning it combines with water from other foods/drinks in our stomach and is then absorbed into our bodies.
  • This also means that the excess vitamin C in our system leaves the body through urination.  This is why vitamin C needs to be consumed with some consistency.
  • Though often recognized to be, oranges aren’t the top food source of vitamin C– red bell peppers have nearly twice as much.  Oranges, however, are still a good source.
  • Vitamin C does more to prevent colds than it can do to help alleviate one once it has been contracted.  Beat the winter cold to the punch and include red bell pepper, broccoli or kale in your next meal!

And like I said, I am not nutrition professional, but I am a student working her way to be.  This information came from notes from past classes– take it how you will.

I’ve got to pack my bags because I’m going home for the weekend…after one more class!

Enjoy your weekends!

Question:

What’s your current food obsession that you just can’t kick?  Aside from yesterday, I’ve eaten oat bran breakfast cakes for the past month+  I just love them!

Amy

5 responses

  1. oh wow! i also heard that brussel sprouts have so much calcium and tomatoes!! who woulda thought?! its weird how oranges are always associated with vitamin c when they aren’t the highest!

    February 11, 2011 at 4:51 pm

  2. I’m the weirdo who doesn’t like oranges, so I have to get it in other places- peppers are definitely one of them!

    February 11, 2011 at 5:32 pm

  3. Pingback: Ode To Breakfast « Chic Fitness

  4. Pingback: Scenery and Veg « Chic Fitness

  5. Pingback: Hoppin’ State Lines « Chic Fitness

Leave a Reply

