Say Cheese(less)

Hey All!

So as I have mentioned before I do not follow a vegan diet, or even a vegetarian one for that matter.  I do, however, eat a largely plant-based diet.  When I came across this post on FitSugar about nutrients that vegans are often lacking in, I took interest and figured some of you would too!

Source

Above is the list of nutrients that FitSugar claims vegans may be deficient in: Iron, Zinc, Vitamin B12 and Omega-3’s.  After looking at the RDAs for each nutrient versus how much can be found in the various vegan foods listed, it is obvious that this is a legitimate concern.  I eat 1-2 TBSP of ground flax seed every day as well as 2 TBSP of walnuts so it is safe to say that I get plenty of the good ol’ omega-3’s.  I am also on the right track with getting my B12 seeing as I have gotten into the habit of consuming at least 2 TBSP of nutritional yeast every day.  My nemesis are iron and zinc.  Even when I used to eat a lot of meat, I’ve always had a problem getting enough iron.  Growing up, we only ate red meat (the most bioavailable source of iron for our bodies) once a week if that due to my Dad’s history of heart problems.  I have always been prone to anemia– so I need to make a conscious effort to avoid it.  Though I don’t often eat red meat, I do eat turkey, chicken, etc. which are also sources of iron.

I just found this little chart to be quite helpful and figured some of you would too…especially those of you who do eat a strictly vegetarian/vegan diet.

My lunch today helped to incorporate some of these nutrients:

Vegan “Fried Mozzarella”

I will not lie to you– these don’t taste exactly like fried mozzarella.  But that is because they are not fried and have no cheese in them.  I’m not a magician, people.  I will say, though, these make a nice healthy substitute and are pretty darn tasty.

Ingredients:

  • 2 oz. baked tofu (I used Soy Boy smoked tofu but an Italian flavored baked tofu would work nicely.)
  • 1 TBSP nutritional yeast
  • 1 generous TSP Italian seasoning (I used Mrs. Dash Salt-Free Garlic & Herb)
  • Olive oil cooking spray

Make It:

  • Preheat oven to 375*
  • Slice 1 of the packaged blocks of baked tofu on the diagonal to form two triangles.  You will be using one of these triangles (approx. 2 oz.) return the other to the package.
  • Slice the triangle lengthwise to form 4 thinner triangles of tofu.
  • In a small bowl, mix your nutritional yeast and Italian seasoning.
  • Lightly spritz each of the tofu triangles on both sides with olive oil spray.
  • One at a time, put the triangles in the mixture and toss, gently pressing tofu down to make sure it is fully coated.
  • Place coated triangles on a cookie sheet that has been sprayed with olive oil spray.
  • Spray tops of triangles with more spray.
  • Bake in the oven for about 15 minutes, flipping once halfway through.
  • Serve with marinara!

I highly suggest seeking out the Soy Boy smoked tofu for this recipe.  The smoked flavor and texture is similar to a smoked cheese– so it adds a lot to this recipe.  This is a nice little healthy snack and a great way to incorporate some of those B12s and iron!

I’m off to get a little snackaroo and do some homework– tonight might be another double dose workout kind of night!  Spinning, perhaps?

Question:

What is your favorite “bar food” appetizer? Mine was always fried mozzarella…I am a cheese lovin’ gal!  Now I try to avoid the fried kind!

Amy

2 responses

  1. Great post! Thanks for stopping by and checking me out 🙂

    I eat a plant strong diet. A little fish, but that’s all. When people go vegan or even vegetarian it’s SO important to get educated on nutrition. It’s easy to have a nutrient imbalance in any diet…but can be very prevalent in a vegan one. Great post!

    February 9, 2011 at 11:03 pm

  2. your tofu looks AWESOME!! i def need to get more iron! thanks for sharing that chart!

    February 10, 2011 at 7:50 am

Leave a Reply

