Double Dose

Happy Tuesday Everyone!

I don’t have any classes on Tuesdays which leaves me with WAY too much free time for my liking.  Sure, it means I have the whole day to catch up on homework but after awhile of just sitting around, girl needs a break!  I gave my Tuesday restlessness the one-two punch today with a double dose of workouts!

Before heading to the gym this morning I enjoyed the same ol’ same ol’…

Oat Bran Breakfast Cake

Then I moseyed on over to the gym for some cardio and an upper body workout.

I started off with 20 minutes of running on the treadmill at an 8:58 pace.

Upper Body:

  • Chest Press: 3 x 10 reps @ 70 lbs.
  • Lat Pulldown: 3 x 10 reps @ 85 lbs.
  • Dumbbell Shoulder Press: 3 x 10 reps. @ 15 lbs/shoulder
  • Dumbbell Lat Raises: 3 x 10 @ 8 lbs./arm
  • Dumbbell Front Raises: 3 x 10 @ 8 lbs./arm
  • Standing Triceps Press: 3 x 10 @ 25 lbs.
  • Triceps Press Down: 3 x 10 @ 22.5 lbs

Then I finished up with 20 more minutes of running.

I came home and munched an apple while catching up on some homework.  Lunch soon followed…

A smoked turkey pita with mustard and bread n’ butter pickles, hummus w/ nutritional yeast and carrot sticks.

(Laundry, homework, yada-yada)

Workout #2!

Pilates!

I needed an afternoon pick-me-up.  Lucky for me, all of the fitness classes at U.C. are free to students and there was a pilates class about to go down.  Back in high school I was a member of the color guard which meant a lot of dancing and A LOT of flexibility.  I did pilates on a regular basis to keep limber but had since stopped.  It had been YEARS since I’d done any pilates moves.

My high school color guard circa Winter 2005.

Can you spot me?

I headed over to the pilates class and got right back into the groove of things!  I recognized most of the poses but I was very stiff.  Back in the day I was able to touch my nose to the ground!  Ridiculous.  I enjoyed the class but made the mistake of chugging a lot of water beforehand– doing pilates 100 with a full bladder is super uncomfortable.  Something to remember next time. 😉 I’m hoping adding pilates back into my routine will aid in my stretching.  I know I don’t stretch enough and I’ve suffered injuries because of it.  No good.

I left class feeling recharged and excited for dinner…

Quinoa, seitan, broccoli, marinara and nutritional yeast.  Yum.

May I just proclaim my love for red sauce?  So tangy and delicious, I could drink it. Kidding…

Kind of…

A few carob chips for dessert.

Now that I’m recharged and refueled, it’s back to the books!

Questions:

What is your favorite way to recharge mid-day? I like a little light exercise to take away the tension from studying.

What time of day is your favorite time to work out? I still like to get my intense workouts done in the morning when I have my most energy, but I’m up for a little afternoon fitness class fun too!

Amy

3 responses

  1. ah carob chips do look tasty– i should give it another shot! great workout!! wow! haah… and i love thenew pic of u on the sidebar- gorgeous!

    February 9, 2011 at 7:31 am

    • You’re too kind…thanks sista!

      February 9, 2011 at 9:56 am

  2. Pingback: Say Cheese(less) « Chic Fitness

Leave a Reply

