Ladies Room Inspiration

Excuse my absence this past weekend– I was busy doing some of this…

Celebrating my 21st birthday with friends and family.

It was such a fun night!  But after too much alcohol…I’m sure you can guess how I spent the following day.  😉 I have never been much of a drinker.  It was fun for a night but I’m pretty sure I won’t be doing that on the regular.

I felt back to my old self on Sunday– especially after I got in a good gym session.  I expected the gym to be dead since it was Super Bowl Sunday (Isn’t that a national holiday for some people?) but it was totally packed.  Discouraging.  I always shy away from doing my full lifting routine when the gym is busy– either because the machines I need are occupied or because I’m feeling claustrophobic and just want to get the heck out of there!  Oh well, I managed to motivate myself to get a good sweat session in.  Just what I needed.

I have been sticking to my goal of cutting down on meat consumption.  Most of my breakfasts and lunches have been heavy on the plants– no meat required.

Still my favorite breakfast– my banana walnut oat bran cake.  With a drizz-drizzle of maple flavored agave.

Lunch included these two beauts from Trader Joe’s– the chipotle salsa is spicy, smokey and delicious!

I combined the steamed lentils with quinoa and mexican spices.  Then topped that off with the smokey salsa, nutritional yeast and Fage greek yogurt (0% because they were out of 2%–boo).

Alongside carrots and my FAVORITE hummus– roasted red pepper Sabra.  Mmmm…a perfect lunch.

Pre-gym snacky…

Kashi Go Lean, 1/2 a banana, carob chips and almond milk.

Many people claim that carob tastes like chocolate or that it is a good replacement for chocolate.  I disagree.  It doesn’t, it’s not.  If you want chocolate– eat chocolate.  Carob does, however, have a distinctive taste that I happen to enjoy.  It also has a good nutritional profile.  According to the Dr. Oz website

Carob flour is relatively low in calories and high in fiber: 1 cup (100 g) provides 222 calories and a whopping 40 g of fiber. Carob is an excellent source of vitamins A, B2, B3, and B6. It is also an excellent source of a number of minerals, including copper, calcium, manganese, potassium, and magnesium. It is also a good source of zinc and selenium.

If you haven’t tried carob you really should– it’s tasty.  Just don’t expect chocolate…you will be disappointed.

And because everything, including meat, has a place in my diet (balance, people!) dinner was some healthy fat and protein in the form of tuna salad…

Tuna salad pita with bread n’ butter pickles, a granny smith and more hummus mixed with nutritional yeast.

I am 100% on board the nutritional yeast train.  The first time I tried it I wasn’t sure how I felt about it but now I actually crave it…preferably with hummus.  Good thing I got this giant tub of it from Whole Foods…

Next to a can of pumpkin for sake of comparison.

We’ll see how long that lasts me.

Before I wrap this up, I must share with you all a little bit of inspiration I stumbled upon today while in the ladies room doing my– ahem– thing.  (I know, right?)

“Love yourself you are worth it.”

To which I replied (in my head, not out loud) “Thanks kind bathroom, I will.”

This was a pleasant change from the rude comments or graffiti you normally see written on bathroom stalls.

Just goes to show you never know where you’ll find a healthy reminder to LOVE yourself!

How ironic would it have been if I had of stumbled across this little statement the day after my big birthday celebration…

Am I right?

Amy

 

 

5 responses

  1. I’m glad you had such a great birthday weekend! Aaaahhhh the 21st celebration- it’s a rough one! Glad to hear you survived. 😉

    February 7, 2011 at 8:36 pm

  2. what a great bday weekend :D! i tried carob once totally expecting chocolate and was WAY disappointed- you’re right!

    February 8, 2011 at 8:08 am

  3. glad you had such a blasty this weekend 🙂 that’s what its all about right!

    mmm i LOVE TJs steamed lentils! thanks for reminding me i need to get a bag the next time i’m there 🙂

    February 8, 2011 at 7:08 pm

  4. Pingback: Say Cheese(less) « Chic Fitness

Leave a Reply

