Let’s Do It (And Do It, Do It, Do It)

Heeeey!

(Nevermind the goofy face…:-P)

I hope everyone had a good Monday!  I’ve gotta say…having Tuesdays off from classes sure does wonders for a “case of the Mondays.” 😉

I have never been one to eat a lot of red meat– I only eat it maybe once a week.  But I do consume a lot of turkey, chicken, cottage cheese AND whey protein powder on a regular basis.  While I know these are all healthy/low-fat sources of animal protein, I am becoming more aware of the fact that it still might not be good for me in that large of a quantity.  I have noticed lately that I have been feeling bloated and getting pretty bad stomach aches after meals…primarily lunch and dinner (the two that contain the most animal product.)  I have been considering for awhile cutting down on my consumption of animal products– and finally I decided to just do it!  In no way am I intending on becoming a vegan or even a vegetarian for that matter, and I have nothing against a carnivorous diet.  I still intend on eating meat, eggs, dairy and protein powder– I just want to cut back on them and introduce more plant-based protein into my diet.  I purchased these two books for my Kindle to help me with recipe ideas, and to help me learn more about the nutrition profile for grains, legumes and veggies:

  • The New Becoming Vegetarian: The Essential Guide To A Healthy Vegetarian Diet by Vesanto Melina

and

  • Appetite For Reduction by Isa Chandra Moskowitz

I’ve skimmed them both and I am really happy with my book choices.  “Becoming Vegetarian” is full of information on how to combine the right vegetarian ingredients to create a healthy meal and “Appetite” has a lot of fun, easy vegetarian recipes–exactly what I was looking for!

My previous diet consisted of:

  • Breakfast: Usually oats of some sort– usually vegan
  • Snack: Protein cake– whey protein
  • Lunch: Usually involved chicken, tuna or turkey
  • Snack: Cereal or cottage cheese– sometimes vegetarian, sometimes not
  • Dinner: Usually involved chicken, tuna or turkey
  • Snack: Protein cake– whey protein

So here is my plan:

  • Replace one of the two protein cakes made with whey protein powder with a protein cake made with brown rice protein powder.

Make at least one meal (lunch or dinner) be vegetarian/vegan.  Before I left home this weekend I prepared some healthy foods I can use to help me achieve this.  I utilized the help of one of my new books:

I made Broiled Blackened Tofu from Appetite For Reduction.  It was SO easy!  And I FINALLY mastered baking my own tofu.  Every time I had tried before it turned out terrible.  This time it was delicious. 🙂

Along with my baked tofu I brought back to school with me:

  • Plain tofu
  • Quinoa
  • Whole wheat pita bread
  • Ezekiel Cinnamon Raisin cereal
  • A TON of almond milk
  • Chickpea veggie burgers
  • Beans
  • Broccoli & Carrots

This should be plenty to help me veggie-fy my lunches and/or dinners.  Here’s how they’ve gone so far!

Broiled Blackened Tofu on pita bread with Galaxy Nutritional Foods pepper jack cheese slice

Chickpea veggie burger, sweet potato fries and kale chips

Protein Cake made with brown rice protein powder instead of whey

I LOVED this!  The brown rice protein powder lends a much more cake-y texture than whey protein does.  If you don’t like the rubbery texture of whey protein baked goods I’d definitely suggest this!

Plain tofu, quinoa, broccoli and lower-sodium soy sauce

I have been enjoying the creativity and new foods so far!  But I’m sure there will be some meat-eating in the near future.  Like I said, I am not against eating meat and animal products– I just feel like I was overdoing it.  I believe that a healthy diet for me requires a little bit of everything and I am working to achieve that balance.  I do realize that this is not what everyone believes, nor is it right for everyone.  These are just my opinions. 🙂

I’m going to settle in with my new cookbooks before bed.

Goodnight!

Amy

 

4 responses

  1. I just stumbled across your blog. The quinoa, tofu, broccoli sounds tasty – simple and easy which is even better. I love getting new cookbooks to browse through. Enjoy!

    February 1, 2011 at 10:04 am

  2. wow! looks like some great changes! im taking on a vegan diet… and hopefully that goes well for me!

    February 1, 2011 at 1:23 pm

  3. Pingback: Say Cheese(less) « Chic Fitness

  4. Pingback: Scenery and Veg « Chic Fitness

Leave a Reply

