My Jungle Adventure

Cincinnati is home to Jungle Jim’s— a huge international grocery store with any food you could ever imagine.  To believe it, you’d have to see it.  Here is the description from the Jungle Jim’s website:

“Discover a World of Food and More!

Jungle Jim’s International Market is a superstore unlike any other you’ve ever experienced. Explore our miles of aisles to find all the hidden gems of the Jungle. With 1 1/2 acres of produce, 50,000 international products and cigars from 70 countries, there is so much to discover. At Jungle Jim’s we also offer more gift shops, restaurants and conveniences than any other supermarket in the region. Dazzling displays of fresh produce, aisles of wine and beer, artisan breads, exotic spices and more are around every corner. Enjoy freshly baked goods hot from the oven, food demonstrations and made-to-order delicacies from our Sub Shop. Be amazed by our selection of fresh-caught seafood, meat, deli products, imported cheeses and international foods – plus all the groceries and household items usually found in a supermarket. Just when you think you’ve seen everything, wander through our Candy Department and be serenaded by Elvis the Lion, learn new culinary techniques in our Cooking School and even create your own fresh bouquet in our Greenhouse.

At Jungle Jim’s International Market, we’re not just a store; we’re a destination!”

Source

I have been wanting to venture to Jungle Jim’s for months– ever since my boyfriend’s parents told me about the store and ever since I found out that they have a LARGE natural/organic foods section.  Yesterday, I finally got my wish when my boyfriend, my roommate and I made a trip to Jungle Jim’s.

I put on my shoppin’ boots and we were ready to go!

You guys, we were in awe when we saw this place.  It is HUGE and we needed a map to get around…I felt like I was in an amusement park!  Unfortunately, the place was SO packed that I didn’t want to stop and take pictures for fear I’d be in the way of fellow shoppers…but my boyfriend and I already decided that we are going back ASAP.  We could have spent the whole day in there but we didn’t have time yesterday.  Needless to say, my first stop was the 1 and 1/2 acre section of produce!  I quickly nabbed some bananas and was so excited about how low their prices were grabbed two bunches of fresh broccoli as well (which is something I usually only ever buy frozen.)  The section I was most excited about was the natural/organic section and it lived up to it’s reputation…it was 5x the size of natural foods sections at other grocery stores.  The selection was unbelievable and for the most part, the prices were very fair.  I was really surprised.  Usually, when I shop in the natural/organic sections I try to find the best deals I can but I prepare to shell out a little more cash.  I ended up finding everything I needed and more–and for cheaper than I’d get anywhere else.  I bought my normal staple groceries– oat bran, ground flax seed, pumpkin (a BIG can ;-)), egg whites and frozen berries– but I also let myself get a couple of “treats” since I wasn’t going to have to spend as much as I had anticipated.  A few of them…

Vanilla flavored agave…so good!

Peanut butter granola…very peanut buttery– tastes just like Nature Valley PB granola bars

They had shelves and shelves of these…it was so hard for me to pick just one flavor.  But I’m SO glad I went with this one!  It’s so tasty.

I can’t wait until I run out of groceries so we can go back!  It’s so exciting! 🙂

I was really excited to use my new goods…here are some of my recent eats…

Last night, I made a batch of Moves ‘N Munchies dark chocolate fudgies with my new agave syrup.  These are so good.  I was addicted after one.  If you haven’t tried them…do it!

Today, I made myself a fudge cake featuring one of the fudgies!  Best. decision. ever.

Protein Fudge Cake

  • 1 scoop chocolate protein powder (I used Pure Protein Cookies n’ Creme)
  • 1/2 banana, mashed
  • 1/4 cup egg whites
  • 1/2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1 tbsp ground flax seed
  • 1 fudgie

Mix first five ingredients together in a non-stick sprayed microwave-safe bowl and microwave for 2 minutes and 30 seconds.  Top with fudgie and spread until melted.  Indulge.

When I make protein cakes I usually always use vanilla protein powder because I don’t like the taste of chocolate protein powder when it is warm…but this was delicious!  The fudgie hid the weird flavor that heated chocolate protein powder normally has.

There was also an oat bran pizzert featuring my new english toffee syrup…mmmm….

And some other equally-delicious food…

Soy Boy smoked tofu, hummus, spicy brown mustard and bread n’ butter pickles on a Joseph’s pita.

A sweet potato: 1/2 savory with light laughing cow swiss, Mrs. Dash “fiesta” spices and Frank’s Red Hot and 1/2 sweet with laughing cow, cinnamon and spray butter….the savory side won 😉

Today is my rest day and boy am I glad because I am experiencing some serious soreness all over.  Getting back into lifting after slacking on it for awhile sure is painful…but I’ll be glad in the long run!

My classes are pretty demanding this week– a couple of exams and an anatomy lab practical.  I guess this means my study break is over!  Back to the books 🙂

Is grocery shopping an adventure or a chore?

What new fav products have you scoped out as of late?

Everyone enjoy your Sunday!

Amy

3 responses

  1. Good luck with your classes! I love your outfit!!

    January 23, 2011 at 9:20 pm

    • Thanks! Good luck with your phone!

      January 23, 2011 at 9:54 pm

  2. Pingback: Banana Walnut Breakfast Cake « Chic Fitness

Leave a Reply

