Get Me Out Of Here

I’m experiencing a bit of cabin fever…

That snow resulted in the university closing at 2 PM today, along with the food courts, student life center and rec center.  I’ve been stuck in my dorm room practically all. day. long.  At least I should be happy that I go out of my two hour lab today, no?

And I should also be happy that I made it to the gym this morning before the blizzard began…

I did 30 minutes on the treadmill at 6.5 mph and 1.0% incline which added up to a 3 mile run.

Then I took it to the weights.

My Excel skills 😉

I kept the weight lifting on the lighter side since I haven’t done much of it for a good month.  I learned my lesson earlier this week when my lower body lift left me with DOMS for DAYS.  Normally I love this but in this case it was hindering my ability to walk– remind me never to slack on weights again.  Thanks.

My post-workout snack was definitely something to be excited about…

Berry delicious protein 😉

Berrylicious Protein Cake

  • 1 scoop of your favorite protein (Mine is Vanilla Creme Pure Protein)
  • 1/4 cup egg whites
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tbsp ground flax
  • 1-2 tbsp pumpkin
  • cinnamon

Mix it all together and pour into a non-stick sprayed microwave safe bowl.  Microwave for 2 minutes.  Top with whatever your heart desires.  I topped mine with thawed frozen berries and sugar free maple syrup!

One thing I know for sure, being stuck inside all day results in boredom hunger. I’ve done an ok job of containing it today– I tried to beat it with a healthy and delicious lunch…

Brown rice, spinach, marinara, feta cheese and Soy Boy smoked tofu

And my afternoon snack was well balanced….

Plain Chobani, Quaker oatmeal squares, banana, almonds and cinnamon

But there have been boredom-induced handfuls of these…

And these…

And dips into this…

(Darn you, TJ!)

While clearly these are all healthy items that are good for me, I try really hard to resist eating out of boredom.  I’m trying to perfect the art of truly listening to my body and it’s hunger cues, if you will.  But food is just so much more interesting than that English paper….;-)

My biggest “snacking” time is right before bed.  Which really needs to be eliminated.  I want to stick to eating a small bedtime snack and then stopping after that.  I’m going to try to sip on tea or water to relieve my cravings…hopefully that works.

My cravings mostly stem from eating sugar–the more I eat, the more I want to eat.  I usually try to stay away from added sugar and my only real kryptonite is dark chocolate…I can’t live without that and I eat it every day.  Salt is also a trigger for me– almond butter, pretzels, you name it and it gets me craving more.  While running at the gym this morning I tuned into one of my favorite TV shows– Dr. Oz.  On this morning’s episode, Dr. Oz introduced his “Sugar Detox Challenge where he challenges us to eliminate artificial sugars and artificial sweeteners and replace them with natural sweeteners such as honey, agave and stevia.  As I said earlier, this is already a goal of mine but as Dr. Oz was explaining why too much sugar in our diet is an issue, I found myself surprised.


Source

#3 was what came as a surprise to me.  I had no idea that excess sugar in our diets was related to liver disease.  Research is now suggesting that too much sugar can cause cirrhosis of the liver.  The more research that surfaces on this topic, the more determined I am to watch my sugar intake!  And hopefully it’ll help keep those cravings under control too. 😉

With that, I’m off to find some way to get rid of this cabin fever!  At least I have Jersey Shore to look forward to tonight!

How do you tame your boredom hunger?

Amy

2 responses

  1. Pingback: “Upgrade” « Chic Fitness

  2. Pingback: Let’s Do It (And Do It, Do It, Do It) « Chic Fitness

Leave a Reply

