Snack Attack

Ta-Daaaa!

My favorite breakfast was a microwave success!  You all have no idea how happy I was at 7:00 AM this morning as I enjoyed my oat bran pizzert a la microwave.  (I refrained from jumping for joy for fear of waking up my roommates!) I topped the gooey cake with thissss…

Best. Almond. Butter. EVER.

Side Note: Nail polish is “Chinatown” by N.Y.C…mysterious 😉

Trader Joe’s Roasted Flaxseeds Crunchy & Salted AB…yum.  And for roughly $5 it’s one of the cheaper AB’s out there!  After my little breakfast party, I changed into my workout clothes and skipped on over to the rec center to get my FIT on…

My FIT ‘fit (Bad pic!)

I love having the rec center literally RIGHT next door to my dorm.  It makes my 7 AM gym session a lot more do-able…and leaves NO room for excuses not to go!  I love getting my workouts done first thing in the morning because in the afternoons or evenings I just don’t have the energy to get a quality workout in.  I ran 4 miles on the treadmill and called it good.

Shower…

Dress…

Make-up…

My Class ‘fit

I love the whole comfortable-yet-dressy look, it’s perfect for sitting in class all day but I still feel fab.  Leggings, a sweater tunic and my favorite parts of today’s ‘fit…

A cute butterfly headband and some $10 boots I got in Canada.  Love.

I had an interview today for a part-time job on campus so I wanted to make sure my attire was business-appropriate.  For those of you who are wondering, the interview went well– but I don’t know if I got the job yet.  🙂

Somewhere between classes and interviewing I sat down to lunch…

Baked tofu and brown rice with Whole Food’s hummus, carrots and a La Tortilla Factory tortilla on the side…while reading blogs. 🙂

I am no good at preparing tofu, it never tastes right.  I think it’s  because I don’t drain it enough– I really need to get me a TofuXpress— so I buy Soy Boy baked tofu from Whole Foods.  It’s my favorite tofu ever, especially the “smoked” flavor…so it’s worth the $$.

Hunger hit me at around 4:30 for an afternoon snack but I couldn’t decide what I wanted.  I came across this blog post yesterday and after snagging a couple of bananas from the dining hall today I decided it would be the perfect snack.  But of course, I changed things up again.  Mostly because I don’t have old fashioned oats on hand– just instant.  Boo.

Cinnamon Banana Scramble (My substitutions)

  • 3T rolled oats (1/4 cup wheat bran)
  • 1T ground flax meal
  • 1T almond milk [or any milk]
  • 1/2 banana
  • 1t cinnamon
  • splash of vanilla (Didn’t use)
  • 1T unsweetened coconut (Added cocoa powder instead)

Then, I just microwaved it all for about 1 minute 30 seconds and viola!….

I topped it with Chobani plain greek yogurt and Trader Joe’s reduced sugar strawberry preserves.

It was good but not great, I should have omitted the cinnamon as I’m not a fan of cinnamon + chocolate but adding the cocoa powder was a last minute decision…live and learn.  I will be making this again with different flavor combos though! My morning snack between breakfast and lunch is almost always a protein smoothie but come time for my afternoon snack, I’m always wanting to experiment and try something new…

I’m off to do some studying and make some dinner!

What are some of your favorite snacks?  I need ideas!

At what time of day do you get in your most quality workouts?

Amy

 

4 responses

  1. Your outfit is so cute! I always get a little heavy handed with the cocoa powder and man can it sure make things bland! Hope you like it next time around. 🙂

    January 19, 2011 at 11:58 pm

  2. i LOVE your top!! it is so cute

    January 20, 2011 at 3:43 am

  3. Could not agree more about the TJ almond butter. I’ve had to cut back on buying it because of how quickly I’d go through a jar… oops!

    But for real- THE BEST.

    January 20, 2011 at 9:35 pm

    • I just looked at your e-mail and realized we have the same first and middle names….weird….

      January 20, 2011 at 9:42 pm

Leave a Reply

